March 1, 2006 News and Notes

first_img News and Notes Perry Binder of Georgia State University received the 2005 Teaching Excellence Recognition Award from the Robinson College of Business. Binder was also a finalist in the National ALSB Master Teaching Competition. Michael C. Gongora of Becker & Poliakoff in Miami was reappointed as a special master for the City of Miami Beach. In addition, Gongora was elected as president-elect of the Miami Beach Bar Association for 2006.The American Board of Trial Advocates, Ft. Lauderdale Chapter, awarded Judge Dorian K. Damoorgian of the 17th Judicial Circuit its 2005 Outstanding Judge Award. Tony Argiz of Morrison, Brown, Argiz & Farra was awarded the Excellence In Accounting Award in the litigation support category. Elizabeth M. Hernandez and Rafael E. Suarez-Rivas each presented topics at the legal seminar “What You Need to Know About Public Records and Open Meetings in Florida.” Joan Nelson Hook of New Port Richey spoke to the Pasco Guardianship Council, Inc., on legislative and end-of-life decisions. René D. Harrod of Berger Singerman and Jacqueline Howe of Ruden McCloskey gave a presentation at the monthly luncheon of the Broward County Women Lawyers’ Association. The presentation was titled “The Attorney-Client Relationship: Avoiding Conflicts & Disqualification in Pitches & Prospects.” Alexis M. Yarbrough of Tripp Scott was selected to participate in the Tillie Fowler Excellence in Public Service Series. Christopher C. Copeland of Carlton Fields in West Palm Beach spoke at the “Preventing Employment Discrimination, Harassment and FLSA Claims” seminar, sponsored by the National Business Institute. Jeffrey C. Fulford of Stuart was appointed by the Florida Supreme Court to the Civil Jury Instruction Committee for a three-year term. Jeff Kamenetsky of Christopher & Weisberg in Ft. Lauderdale was named president of the Intellectual Property Law Association of Florida. Jon Rawlson of Akerman Senterfitt was reappointed by Gov. Jeb Bush to serve as a member of the East Central Florida Regional Planning Council, Region Six. Laurel M. Isicoff of Kozyak Tropin & Throckmorton in Miami has been selected to be inducted as a fellow in the American College of Bankruptcy. Justin Zinzow of Ruden McClosky in St. Petersburg was elected treasurer of the Greater Pinellas Young Republicans Club, Inc., and is also serving as special counsel to the organization. Carlton Fields participated as one of three co-hosts at the Counsel to Counsel forum in Atlanta. Robert W. Pass of Tallahassee and Alison Danaceau of Atlanta spoke at the forum titled “Managing Discovery in the Digital Age.” Luis E. Suarez of Boies, Schiller & Flexner was elected to the board of directors of the Cuban American Bar Association. Marian Pearlman Nease of Berger Singerman spoke about the impact of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act on the governance of non-profit boards at a seminar hosted by Moore Stephens Lovelace. Stewart D. Fried of Kilpatrick Stockton in Washington, D.C., has been appointed co-chair of the Young Lawyers Subcommittee of the Environmental Litigation Committee of the ABA. Fried was also selected as general counsel of the Florida State Society. Judge Robert N. Scola, Jr., of the 11th Judicial Circuit of Florida was honored with the Judge Steven Levine Award, presented by the Dade County Trial Lawyers Association. W. Edward McIntyre of Bunnell, Woulfe, Kirschbaum, Keller, McIntyre, Gregoire & Klein was appointed to the Administration of Justice Committee of The Florida Bar Foundation. David Pratt of Proskauer Rose spoke at the Southern Nevada Estate Planning Council meeting. His topic was gift tax returns. Michael G. Whelan of Ogletree Deakins in Miami spoke on “The Force v. The Dark Side” at the Florida Public Employers Labor Relations Association’s 32nd annual training conference in Orlando. Charles H. Lichtman of Berger Singerman in Ft. Lauderdale was asked to serve on the Amicus Curiae Committee of the Equipment Leasing Association. Brett Rivkind of Miami was selected as legal counsel to International Cruise Victims Association, Inc. Joe Englander of Christopher and Weisberg lectured on copyright and trademark law at the Art Institute of Ft. Lauderdale. James P. Dawson of Fox Rothschild in West Palm Beach participated as a judge in the The Florida Bar Tax Section’s 2006 National Tax Court Moot Competition in St. Petersburg. Mikki Canton of Gunter Yoakley & Stewart in Miami was presented with the Valor Award from the American Diabetes Association. Additionally, Canton was honored as the event-opening speaker at the 2006 Midyear Meeting of the Florida Association for Women Lawyers. Harry A. Shevin of Searcy Denney Scarola Barnhart & Shipley in West Palm Beach was elected treasurer of the Palm Beach County Trial Lawyers Association. Additionally, Jack Hill was elected to the PBCTLA board of directors, and Emilio Diamantis is serving a second year as paralegal representative for the organization. Dennis G. Corrick of Dean, Mead, Minton & Zwemer in Ft. Pierce was elected to the board of directors of the St. Lucie County Chamber of Commerce. Stephen R. Looney of Dean Mead in Orlando led a panel discussion titled “Redemptions and Purchases of S Corporation Stock” at the ABA Tax Section’s S Corporations Committee at the 2006 midyear meeting in San Diego. Luis Lauredo of Hunton & Williams in Miami was elected to the board of directors of the Spain-U.S. Chamber of Commerce. Additionally, Lauredo was awarded the “Gran Cruz de la Orden Al Mérito por Servicios Distinguidos” by the government of Peru and President Alejandro Toledo. Judge Thomas H. Bateman III received second place honors in the Judge Edward R. Finch Law Day Speech Award competition for 2005, awarded by the ABA Standing Committee on Public Education. His speech was titled, “Juror Justice: Enhancing Jury Trials through Innovation; The American Jury: We the People in Action.” Thomas Ringel of Markowitz, Davis, Ringel & Trusty in Miami was appointed chair of the Palmetto Bay Charter Revision Committee. March 1, 2006 News & Notes March 1, 2006 News and Noteslast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *