Sam Houston State Sweeps Indoor Championships for Third Straight Year

first_img 5. McNeese 53 The Bearkat men finished with a total point tally of 128 for their third overall title while the women’s total of 123 earned them their sixth team championship. Natashia Jackson of Northwestern State was the Women’s High Point Scorer with 22.3 points. The sophomore earned 10 points for her 400m dash win, eight points for third in the 200m dash, three points for sixth in the 60m dash and 2.5 as part of the winning Lady Demon 4x400m relay. 8. Southeastern Louisiana 41 Men’s Weight Throw Sam Houston State Joshua Hernandez So. 64-04.50/19.62m 8. McNeese 38.5 Adams owns three individual gold medals from this year’s championships after winning the long jump and high jump yesterday. Men’s Triple Jump Lamar Brian O’Bonna Sr. 49-11.75/15.23m Men’s 3,000m Lamar Jamie Crowe Jr. 8:14.51 Women’s Pole Vault Stephen F. Austin Kaylee Bizzell So. 13-02.25/4.02m On day two, junior Thai Williams of Lamar took down the women’s 60m dash record that had stood since 2001. Williams clocked in at 7.37 to comfortably take gold in the final and earn 10 points for the Cardinals. She now ranks third all time in overall Southland history.Ashley Davis of Southeastern Louisiana heaved a gold medal shot put mark of 16.61m, breaking the 11-year old record of 6.06m. In the women’s 800m, Sam Houston State’s Camry Grigsby broke her own meet record which she had set in 2016 (2:09.68), finishing with a time of 2:09.30 today for first place. She now holds the No. 4 and 5 spots in the Southland all-time top five. Day Two Champions Women’s 200m Northwestern State De’Shalyn Jones Sr. 24.02 2. Northwestern State 95 9. Southeastern Louisiana 38 Men’s Final Team Standings In total, five meet records were broken through the two-day event.First to fall was the 5,000m record held by Lamar’s Jannika John since 2015. Rabea Schöneborn of Texas A&M-Corpus Christi emphatically made her mark by nearly 10 seconds, winning gold with a time of 16:26.46. That time ranks fourth overall in conference history. 1. Sam Houston State 128 Women’s 400m Northwestern State Natashia Jackson So. 54.78 Men’s 60m Hurdles Sam Houston State Fabian McCall So. 7.90 Last to fall was the men’s 200m record of 21.17 set in 2014. Chris Jefferson of Sam Houston State finished with a blistering gold medal time of 21.07, which ranks him second all-time in league history. 3. Stephen F. Austin 84.5 12. Nicholls 6 4. Abilene Christian 70.5 Pl. School Points Men’s 400m Southeastern Louisiana Maverick Bowleg Sr. 47.71 Men’s 800m Central Arkansas Alex Hanson So. 1:50.87 11. Houston Baptist 20 Women’s Mile Texas A&M-Corpus Christi Allyson Girard Jr. 4:53.65 Women’s Shot Put Southeastern Louisiana Ashley Davis So. 54-06.00/16.61m Women’s 4x400m Northwestern State — — 3:43.89 In the dominant fashion which has become the norm in this event, Tyler Adams of Sam Houston State comfortably won the men’s heptathlon for the fourth consecutive year with a point total of 5,544. The senior Bearkat’s point total is the third-highest in overall conference history. Hunter Key of Stephen F. Austin took silver with 5,238 points while Texas A&M-Corpus Christi’s James Manders earned bronze (4,964). Women’s 3,000m Texas A&M-Corpus Christi Rabea Schöneborn Sr. 9:37.62 2. Stephen F. Austin 103 Women’s 800m Sam Houston State Camry Grigsby Sr. 2:09.30 7. UIW 45.5 Event School Name Cl. Distance/Time/Points 3. Northwestern State 80 Men’s 200m Sam Houston State Chris Jefferson Jr. 21.07 5. Texas A&M-Corpus Christi 69 Women’s High Jump Central Arkansas Hannah Noble Jr. 5-07.75/1.72m Women’s 60m Lamar Thai Williams So. 7.37 Men’s 60m Sam Houston State Chris Jefferson Jr. 6.72 Stephen F. Austin men took the runner-up team finish with 103 while the Lady Demons of Northwestern State registered their highest indoor team finish in program history, finishing second with 95 points. 10. Houston Baptist 14 Men’s Heptathlon Sam Houston State Tyler Adams Sr. 5,544 4. Lamar 76 11. Central Arkansas 14 9. Abilene Christian 39 The top three finishers in each event final are named First, Second and Third Team All-Conference, respectively. Individual men’s and women’s awards for Coach of the Year, Outstanding Running Events Performer, Outstanding Field Events Performer, Freshman of the Year, Newcomer of the Year and Athlete of the Year will be nominated and voted upon by head coaches next week. Pl. School Points FINAL RESULTS | Photo Gallery | Championships HomepageBIRMINGHAM, Ala. – For the third consecutive year, Sam Houston State showcased its indoor dominance by sweeping both the men’s and women’s team titles at the Southland Conference Indoor Track & Field Championships. Women’s 60m Hurdles Northwestern State Daeshon Gordon Sr. 8.26 Women’s Triple Jump UIW Sarea Alexander Jr. 41-07.25/12.68m 10. Texas A&M-Corpus Christi 20.5 Men’s 4x400m Stephen F. Austin — — 3:14.39 12. New Orleans 6 Men’s Mile UIW Deion Hardy Jr. 4:15.81 1. Sam Houston State 123 The Ladyjacks took third on the women’s side with 84.5 points, followed by Abilene Christian (70.5) in fourth and Texas A&M-Corpus Christi in fifth with 69. UIW was sixth (56.5) followed by Lamar (54), McNeese (38.5) and Southeastern Louisiana (38). Houston Baptist and Central Arkansas tied for 10th with 14 points apiece, followed by Nicholls (6). The 2018 Southland Conference Outdoor Track & Field Championships will be held from May 4-6 in San Antonio, Texas, hosted by UIW. Adams also emerged as the Men’s High Point Scorer, finishing with an all-time conference best 34 points to his name, smashing the previous record of 27 points set in 1994. He earned 10 points each for his heptathlon, high jump and long jump wins, plus four points for his fifth-place finish in the 60m hurdles. 6. UIW 56.5 7. Lamar 54 6. Central Arkansas 49 Northwestern State men finished third – the team’s best since 2003 – with 80 points while Lamar was fourth with 76 and McNeese scored 54 to round out the top five. Central Arkansas was sixth with 49 points, followed by UIW (45.5), Southeastern Louisiana (41), Abilene Christian (39), Texas A&M-Corpus Christi (20.5), Houston Baptist (20) and New Orleans (6). Women’s Final Team Standings For athletes that achieved qualifying marks this season, the NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships will be hosted by Texas A&M from March 9-10 at the Gilliam Indoor Track Stadium in College Station.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *