No letting up, says Griffith

first_img… Jaguars/Pride face off today in penultimate roundAFTER being confirmed as the Regional four-day champions for a fourth straight year last Saturday, Guyana Jaguars assistant coach/manager Rayon Griffith says there is no room for complacency heading into today’s start of the penultimate round against hosts Barbados Pride.The Jaguars edged the Jamaica Scorpions by two wickets in the eighth round and moved to an unassailable 135 points. Second-placed Barbados Pride (85.8), Leeward Islands Hurricanes (79.4), Trinidad and Tobago Red Force (76.76), Jamaica Scorpions (75.8), and Windward Islands Volcanoes (61.4) complete the points table after eight rounds.The Jaguars have won six games in convincing fashion, drew against the Hurricanes and recorded a tied against the Windward Islands Volcanoes in round six.During an interview on social media, Griffith, the 38-year-old, said “Definitely there is no room for complacency. We will come hard at them (Barbados Pride); we will play tough cricket as usual, with the aim to end the season undefeated,”Meanwhile, all-rounder Sherefane Rutherford has returned to the squad. He replaced fast bowler Keon Joseph, who has a slight groin injury.Rutherford, who was surprisingly dropped for the last round, has played an integral part during the first seven rounds.The hard-hitting Demerara Cricket Club (DCC) player amassed 239 runs with a top-score of 51 while with the ball he snatched 19 wickets at an average of 20.36 with a best haul of 6-32.The Jaguars will return home next week to wrap up the tournament against Trinidad and Tobago Red Force at Providence.In other ninth round matches Windward Islands Volcanoes will play Trinidad and Tobago Red Force at Windsor Park, Roseau, Dominica while Jamaica Scorpions will host Leeward Islands Hurricanes at Sabina Park.Guyana Jaguars squad reads: Leon Johnson (captain), Vishaul Singh, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Keemo Paul, Akshaya Persaud, Raymon Reifer, Anthony Bramble (wicketkeeper), Gudakesh Motie, Veerasammy Permaul, Romario Shepherd and Sherefane Rutherford.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *